Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Introducing Aarambha, a little doll

Hi everyone!

Most of the time I don't share my creations because everyone on here posts the most amazing and perfect work and I feel somewhat embarrassed by my work. I decided today though that I am still learning my craft and I would still like to share my not-so-perfect works with you. I hope this is OK. Maybe someone will even learn from my mistakes!

This is my first doll (her name, Aarambha, means beginning in Sinhalese). She is far from perfect but since she is the first doll I have made, I'm very proud of her. Her body and head are made of polymer clay. Her arms and legs move as they are joined to the body by wire. Her simple clothing is sewn from printed cotton. Her face is painted on with acrylic paint (and I can see how it's a bit scary looking! I've thankfully ordered some smaller brushes online today.) and her hair is standard embroidery thread.

She is the first of many more to come!

I also wanted to take the oppurtunity to ask any doll makers on the forum if they can see any obvious mistakes I have made and if they could offer any suggestions to fix them? One thing that confuses me, is that before I baked her, she was able to stand but now she just wobbles over. It's only her skirt rim that is keeping her up now! Any suggestions on how to make sure the end product stand would be great!

Anyway, enough rambling. Just wanted to share and ask for some advice.

Thanks.
    Some of my creations:
    http://learningspirit.co.uk

Aarambha!

She's WONDERFUL!!!

When my grown daughters were younger, my mother collected little bisque animal head dolls for them - NONE of them would stand alone. They came with a little stand that encircled them under their arms and was not very noticeable.

Aarambha is terrific! Great job!

Comment

She is gorgeous, so tiny and sweet, you should be very proud of what you have made and please post more I love to see your work.

Kim xx