Beech is so much easier

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beech is so much easier

I collected my latest consignment of plaques yesterday and im now halfway through my first sign using beech.... Wow what a difference !

Pyrography is even more of a pleasure now, my work is now so much neater, its quicker to work with too,

im finding the heat in the pen more subtle to control with beech , im needing a lower heat setting and the pen seems to loose heat quicker too. i was using setting 6 or 7 on my peter child with oak but im down to 4 or 5 with the beech or lower for the finer areas. shading is much easier on the beech too

no more pesky oak for me

cheers

I like working on beech too.
    I'm new to Peter Child machine aswell. I haven't used heat above 4 yet - I'm almost afraid too - it's taking me time to get used to the heat settings!! lol
    My house name plaque i posted the other day was a beech plaque
    http://www.samigailsgifts.co.uk/
    Handmade personalised gifts for all occasions created by the art of pyrography
    My Facebook

Comment

Hi Samigail

Your sign is super, where do you get your plaques from and what finish do you use? Im getting mine from a local woodyard who cut, edge and sand them for me in rectangular shapes and its working out at £5 each for a 9 x 14 inch plaque. I havent asked them yet if they can cut rounded shapes like yours, Im aware that they normally work with much larger quantitys and I dont want to ask to much, they are a great bunch of guys and they are quite interested in my work so maybe ill enquire on my next visit.

Im finding the temperature is a little tricky to master too, as an experiment i got a scrap piece of wood and turned my dial to 1 and shaded a 1 cm square and wrote a 1 next to it and did the same with 2, 3 and so on just to see the effect really, i have done this with the oak and the beech and there is quite a difference.