Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• wood for carving

Hi. Laura here.
    Been reading and learning lots from others' about wood for pyro', but it's carving I'm trying to get into.
    I'm really new to wood, and was hoping someone could give me some advice on the types of wood that suit a carving beginner like me.
    Gonna need loads of practice before I buy specific blanks.
    Being a narrowboater, ideally I'd love to use the interesting pieces I see along the way (fallen limbs etc,) but if pallets, old decking/fence posts etc are suitable, I'll find some.
    Please help!!!!
    Laura
    Laura

Well, limewood or basswood is what the professionals use. But you can carve or whittle pretty much anything! I've used Arborius Skipii (AKA "Skipwood" - ie old chunks of random wood found in a skip!) with more or less success. Just remember that loose-grained pine-y stuff will tend to splinter off in long speary bits if youre not careful...
    Cheers,
    Scorch

Scorch's Pyrography : www.scorchpyro.co.uk
    Crafts on Flickr : http://www.flickr.com/photos/tanniso...7606138937826/

Comment

Thats great. I'll be looking out for all sorts then.
      Gonna visit a couple of craft fairs over the wkend. Hoping to see some carvings, and maybe pick up a few ideas.
      Really appreciate all advice. Thanks very much.
      Laura
      Laura

Comment

What are you trying to carve and what tools are you using?

I carve spoons and things with knives which is perfect for using small diameter wood from canal sides but the advice would be the same for carving sculptures with chisels.

To start use softer woods, lime is good but not common on canalsides willow, poplar and alder are all excellent beginners woods.