X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help Making Wooden Hearts

Hello!

I'm a newbie after some help!

I've decided, maybe not wisely, to make wooden heart place names for my wedding. So, I ordered some plain wooden MDF hearts and now I need to paint them. This is where my problems start. I picked up some tester pots from B&Q, as someone recommended, but I can't seem to avoid brush strokes. I've tried a sponge and still seem to get them. Once they're painted I then want to put dots on and then the persons name.

I'm not the most crafty of people so if anyone could give me any tips it would be greatly appreciated...starting to think I should've paid the money and bought them done!

Thanks alot!
    Jennbear

Hi there and to the forum !!
    For the hearts i would use a mini roller to get a smooth finish and a cotton bud to make the dots !!

Sara x
    allabouteden blog

fromthehandsofkittyeden

my folksy shop

Comment

Thanks Sara!

That's a great idea. For some reason I'm good at thinking of doing something but actually doing it is a different matter!

really appreciate the advise.....just one more question, how do I do the sides without getting blobs of paint round the edges?

xx

Comment

Mmmm not sure maybe paint the outside first with a brush and then do the main part with the roller ... i hope it all goes well
        allabouteden blog

fromthehandsofkittyeden

my folksy shop

Comment

Good thinking! Thanks

Wish me luck!
          x

Comment

Hi.
            Welcome to the forum.

My advise would be to go to you local focus do-it-all and buy spray primmer and then the base colour you want. I think it's called plasticoat?

I use this all the time and it works. You can buy all colours. that way you get no brush marks.

Please bear in mind that it can take quite a while for them to dry completely, so make sure after a few days you put tissue paper between each one or they stick together and then you have to start again..... and that's sos anoying.