Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Eyelets - sigh... help needed

Hi

Basically, I have just bought an eyelet punching/setting tool, however it doesnt seem to work properly. This is the first time that I am using the tool so i might just be making some sort of mistake. The thing is that it doesnt seem to cut properly - I place the tool with the cutting head on the paper and hammer on the back of the cutter handle but no luck - it simply makes a little round shape in the paper but doesnt actually punch the paper -aarrrghhh. Im definitely using the cutting head and not the setting head - is it me or the tool??? Help!

I have no experience with these, i always use a hole punch (same size as eyelet) then use the setting tool and hammer. It gives the perfect finish and the punch is only about £3.
    Emma
    Luxury craft supplies & magnolia Stamps - Sassy Crafts
    Sassy Crafts Blog
    My Blog

Comment

How many times are you hitting it and how hard. I seem to remember them being demonstrated on tv and the women hitting it quiet firmly about three times.
      "You've Got to Keep Your Mind Wide Open" - AnnaSophia Robb
      my Folksy shop Goldy'sclearoutblog debaynewebdesign

Comment

Hiya

Goldy1 is right you do have to give it a hefty old whack with the hammer, maybe you're being too gentle with it.

After managing to damage our kitchen table when I first did it I now use a coaster made out of cork to put underneath the card I'm punching....I find it's just the right firmness plus obviously protects the table.
        Visit Natty Netty for a huge selection of Iris Folding supplies

Comment

Is it being hit on a solid surface?If its not it effects the outcome.
          https://folksy.com/shops/GrimmExhibition

http://poisonedapplecraftuk.blogspot.co.uk/

Poisoned Apple Theatre - Handmade Crafts on Facebook

Comment