Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Firing in an electric kiln

Hello.
    I am an self taught potter so dont have any proper kiln training. I have a medium sized electric kiln running on a single phase supply. Im finding that I cannot make the temperature rise quickly (250 degrees per hour). After 700 degrees it starts slowing. Becasue of the this (I think) the heatwork (Im using orton cones) vs temperature reading on the controller become more and more diverged.
    My recent experiment found that at cone 05 the controller is reading 40 degrees lower, cone 6 45 degrees lower, cone 7 62 degrees lower......
    so my question is should I just set the controller for a lower temperature and go with the cones reading or should I aim somewhere in between. I know that I can go on experimenting but just wondering if any one else on a single phase supply has ponderings about heatwork? Any thoughts greatfully recieved.
    ps recently crazed a whole kiln full of earthenware glazed work (several different clays) guessing this might have been caused by over firing ....

I guess I'm lucky in a way as I don't have a controller on my kilns - I use mini bars and a kiln sitter. When the mini bar bends, the kiln switches off. I have to manually turn it up at each stage, which sometimes means getting up every 2 hours throughout the night if I'm on a deadline!

But at least it's uncomplicated and I never have any problems (touch wood)!

Sorry I can't help with your question.
    Daesul

http://www.clairemanwani.com
    http://www.folksy.com/shops/clairemanwani
    http://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/ClaireManwaniPottery

Comment

Thanks for your reply. H

Comment

Hi. I know a little bit about kilns, digital controllers and firing.

Can you supply a bit more information as I can't work out what your issue is i.e.

What makes you suspect that your kiln is not firing 250°c every hour in the first part of your programme?