Can a glazed piece be re-fired?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can a glazed piece be re-fired?

I am very new to ceramics so would appreciate some help. I have made a small lidless box from low-fire earthenware clay and glazed it with 4 coats of brush-on glaze. It has been very successful, except in one or two places where it looks as though there was a small air bubble under the glaze. In these places there is a small ring of thicker glaze where the air bubble has popped.

Is it possible to grind these flaws down with diamond files and re-fire the piece?

Thank you
    Pat

i'm not sure as im a bit new to ceramics too but are you sure the glaze hasn't 'crawled' this happens when its on too thick or get hot too quickly (i think) so if thats the case its probably not wise to fire it again.... But like I said I'm not sure at all so dont take my work for it!
    Sometimes if there's loads of little bubbles you can fire it again and it will burn the bubbly bits off to make it smooth again..
    http://www.terrilowedesign.co.uk
    http://www.twitter.com/Hello_TerriLowe
    http://territriestwice.blogspot.com/
    email: [email protected]

Comment

Unless the glazes have changed I would have said no, as you could burn the original glaze. I may be wrong have you tried to email cromartie as they may have the answer.

Comment

Hi Pat,

I use stoneware clay and am often re-firing pieces that haven't come out successfully back up to 1260 degrees C, and they come out fine.

I'm not sure if earthenware will work in the same way. But you won't know unless you try... make sure you paint a little bit more glaze over the area where the bubbles were though. As Caroleecrafts said, you may run the risk of 'cooking' the glaze for too long and it might change the look of it from what it looks like now.

Comment

I know nothing about ceramics so please feel free to ignore me!
          But I just wanted to say that sometimes you learn by 'just giving it a go'