Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ceramic Virgin ... He! He!

I hope the title caught your attention

Since school and my sausage coil pot, I haven't touched anything ceramic (and that was a long time ago) but would really like to explore this area but I don't know where to start.
    I'm a textile artist and had would like to transfer some of my designs onto ceramics such as mugs, plates etc.

Can you buy ready to paint items ? How much would a kiln be etc. I really am clueless so would appreciate any advice or info. I've goggled for courses with the Berkshire N Hampshire areas but haven't had much luck so far.

Thanking you in advance !
    Laurie

www.23beechhill.co.uk

http://23beechhill.blogspot.com

Not too sure where you are in Berkshire but you could try Hobby Ceramicraft I did a course there years ago and they are very good.

Also what about ceramic cafe's. I trained with Duncan ceramics got my teaching certificate etc but decided to sell my kiln about 2 years ago along with all the moulds. The above will advise you re kilns etc and it may be worth going along to have a chat with them.

Good Luck

Comment

Hi Caroline, Oh my lordy, they are literally 10 mins away from me, I have passed it millions of times and didn't realise they did courses. I often see them loading up pallets etc.
      I live really close to Wellington Country Park which is also a stones throw from Hobby Ceramicraft.

Thanks for the suggestion, I'll get onto them tomorrow
      Laurie

www.23beechhill.co.uk

Comment

Originally posted by 23BeechHill View Post
        I hope the title caught your attention

Since school and my sausage coil pot, I haven't touched anything ceramic (and that was a long time ago) but would really like to explore this area but I don't know where to start.
        I'm a textile artist and had would like to transfer some of my designs onto ceramics such as mugs, plates etc.