Tim Holtz stamps, tissue tape, distress ink pads etc

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tim Holtz stamps, tissue tape, distress ink pads etc

I love Altered art and have recently decided that the Tim Holtz range is something I'd like to investigate and use. The Die cuts I would love to have but the machine etc is way out of my price range at the moment. To start up with what essentials would you recommend getting, just a couple of ink pads and stamps? I can see it becoming an obsession.
    Debbie
    Please visit my facebook page
    http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Pre...4922514?ref=ts

I do vintage style and tinker with altered art, steam punk and collage style cards but I'm not an expert at it. Ive just got a bryer which you may find useful. I love Tim Holtz style but I find a lot of the items overpriced. If you look round you can get lots of items (dies and embellishments) cheaper but just as good. I have some of their inks and background papers.

I use stamps that will go with these styles and select neutral coloured inks and papers. Co-ordinations papers and some sand paper will be useful for this style.

What machine are you refering to? The manual bigshot at £59.99 is all you need. I understand this may be out of reach at the moment but its much cheaper than the vagabond machine I think you may have seen.

Comment

Hi Debbie... I am a bit of a Holtz fan myself and can see the attraction...at the same time if you are just trying things out, it is the process that is key to achieving the look and you can get the same type of effects using other non branded items - many that you can pick up in a hardware store

From the hardware store you can pick up low tack masking tape, plaster board mesh tape and aluminium foil tape and a spritzer as well as washers and other interesting bits and bobs..all of these are fabulous basics for adding elements/texture to your projects and for altering items of any shape.