Anyone know the Cricut Joy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone know the Cricut Joy?

I'm new to crafts, very new to the Cricut Joy having unboxed it yesterday and very flipping frustrated. It came with no instructions at all so I've been on YouTube all day to try and get some answers. There's lots of unboxing tutorials but then it seems to switch to ones that assume you know more than I do. I can't find anything that addresses what I want to know.

What I want to do is insert A3 length card (so long and narrow seeing as the machine only takes up to 4.5" wide). I want to create a picture to cut out in the middle of the length of the card. I've not tried inserting anything that long yet as I'm not sure how it will cut as the grid is only very short.

Problem 1 - Even if I create the image in the middle of the design grid, when I go to cut the image it moves the image to the top right corner of the grid and cuts it out at the top left corner of the card.

Problem 2 - As well as above it also changes the order of the words. I thought by using the 'group' button it would keep them in order. It doesn't.

Problem 3 - When I cut out b's, d's, o's etc they are just gaps as the middle is missing. I guess if you are using vinyl you keep the middle bits but I'm using card so they just look odd. Are there recommended fonts for use on card?

Can anyone help please?
    Last edited by SnuffleMonkey; 30-04-2020, 10:53 PM.

Hello,

I am sorry I don't know anything about this type of machine, I use a gemini and dies.

There is not much activity here these days, I suggest you find a Cricut Joy group on FB, there will probably be help there.

Something like this https://www.facebook.com/groups/397046684451465/

Shelley

Comment

Hiya,

I don't have a Cricut Joy, but have a Cricut Maker.

When you click 'Make It' and it takes you to the mat page, can you change the material size on the left hand side?