help understanding crochet patterns

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• help understanding crochet patterns

hi,I am new to crochet and have been using YouTube to learn basic stitches but know want to try some of the beautiful patterns around.I have knitted for many years so uunderstand the basics of following a pattern but they all confuse me right from the start. does anyone have any tips please

I'm in a similar situation as you. Earlier today I fished out a crochet book that has been lying around for a long time, and discovered something very important for those of us in the UK. The terminology used in the USA is different from the UK (At least, according to my 1984 published book there is a difference).

I shall type up the differences and post in a few moments...
    ~~The old ways are the future~~

Comment

I've always found the most tedious part to be the first row...so I use a knit cast on, rather than a chain.

So what's the pattern you're using right now, and what exactly is muddling you? What's the first road block?

Comment

hi,yeah have seen that too,it's just the whole thing I find confusing,how they are laid out,the abbreviations,the whole thing.I could really do with a nice lady sat next to me and talking me through it.but I don' t know anyone who crochets.

Comment

and do I always crochet under the two little strands or is it into the gap between stitches?

Comment

You are right in assuming that our stitch names vary from USA. I can't remember which way it goes but the series of stitch names either move on one or down one. i.e. a d.c. in one is a c in another. We have some avid crochetters on here who will be able to put you right and will be on prob. now Christmas is nearly over. Just hang around and wait, it will happen.
            Carol
            God helps them that help themselves.

Comment

thank- you,I am new to forums too so hope I can find my way back again!lol . Will check in again . x

Comment