Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Knitting

Hii!

In my crafty quest with lots of time on my hands and after a lovely break in York where I picked up a book on knitting for beginners for 50p I decided I wanted to start.

The first few pages talked of knitting needle sizes and I got scared and put it down as it didnt explain what ones I should use! How do I go about choosing or is any pair okay especially since Im a beginner and on a budget!

Help please

KayleighAnn
    My Homemade Life

Or at least the early beginnings

Hi KayleighlyAnn, how's life?

The size needle you need will be specified in whatever patterns you use. It depends on yarn size and item being made.

You can often find knitting needles and even yarns in thrift shops, or at decent prices at some big box stores (like Walmart, here). I always recommend natural yarns like cotton, wool, mohair, though wool or mohair may be easier to handle in the beginning - less slippy...less likely for a stitch to be dropped accidentally.

For teaching yourself basic stitches, I always suggest needles that are not too thin, but you also don't want something gigantic. Go to some shop and look at them...read the sizes and look at them and get a 'feel' for them.

Also, if you get fatter needles, you'll want fatter yarn. Ask the people in the shop.

The thing is to not be intimidated by the instructions. Read part and say to yourself "ah ha, okay, sure, let me read that again..." things like that, and give yourself a big bear hug. I.e., stay calm! Often, a lightbulb will go on over your head after you have read and re-read the stuff a few times, giving it a try on your needles so you can really get it set in your mind's eye. Now this is important - don't be upset if your initial attempts looks like spaghetti in whirlwind! That is OK and you must give yourself permission to screw up, and you must learn to laugh at it all!