Might attempt knitting...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Might attempt knitting...

A friend at work has offered to teach me to knit. I last knitted when I was in Brownies and was unbelievably bad at it so never picked up a knitting needle since. What sort of thing would be a good easy to make item for a complete beginner. I do have a (almost) 2 year old so there is the possibility of small clothing items, but I want something fairly quick as my first item so I don't get disheartened or fed up when I start dropping stitches left right and centre..... I have no idea what to attempt to make!
    View my flickr

'I am sure it must hurt your eyes to work filigree by candlelight.' - Jane Austen

You could knit squares to sew together for a throw for Rhiannon. I wouldn't try a garment first off, if you found it too difficult it might put you off the idea altogether. A scarf is quite simple too.
    Carol
    God helps them that help themselves.

Comment

How about a little poncho for her? There are a few free patterns at Knitting Pattern Central. Fat needles, fat yarn, easy, fast pattern....YES!!

Does she already have a blankie she is attached to? You could just go for a simple blankie pattern...every kid needs a favorite blankie.

Comment

I've just bought a knitting loom. Just a 12 inch one but it great for scarves and patchwork squares. I've done a few squares using string and they look brilliant.

Comment

Take a look at this site lion brand yarn my daughter who's just started knitting again recommends it.
          Carol

Comment

Thanks for the suggestions I have yet to visit the wool shop to get my first needles and ball of wool. I do fancy having a go at a poncho at some point, but might try something smaller to begin with.
            View my flickr

'I am sure it must hurt your eyes to work filigree by candlelight.' - Jane Austen

Comment