Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best Sewing machine for comlete novice

Hi,

I actually make jewellery for a living but fancy having a go at making things by sewing.

Now my hand stiching is worse than terrible so I thought about getting myself a cheap starter sewing machine. I just wondered if anybody could recommend one to me.

I am a complete beginner with a machine, so nothing too fancy or expensive.

I want to try & make some simple purses/bags & maybe bunting, etc

Can anybody point me in the right direction or does anybody have a machine they may like to sell

REMEBER.... I AM A COMLETE NOVICE

Thanks

Debbie
    xx
    http://www.debbiegrahamjewellery.com

Originally posted by Debbie Graham View Post
    Hi,

I actually make jewellery for a living but fancy having a go at making things by sewing.

Now my hand stiching is worse than terrible so I thought about getting myself a cheap starter sewing machine. I just wondered if anybody could recommend one to me.

I am a complete beginner with a machine, so nothing too fancy or expensive.

I want to try & make some simple purses/bags & maybe bunting, etc

Can anybody point me in the right direction or does anybody have a machine they may like to sell

REMEBER.... I AM A COMLETE NOVICE

Thanks

Debbie
    xx
    Hi,

I do work for Janome, so I am bias... but my advice for any brand...
    • would be don't go for something really cheap....under £100 aren't really very strong.
    • Remember machines go up to 5k just for domestic machine (they do do alot thou) so machines under £100 aren't the quality you would get for say, £200.
    • Think about what fabrics you will want to sew... if you want to do denims, curtains etc...you need to have a strong machine...