Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Knitting - Which Needles and where to buy

Hi Everyone

I am new knitter, started about a week ago and loving it! I am expecting a baby in a few weeks and this is the only thing that is enableing me to relax (I am not very good at resting.. too active!!).

I had a couple of questions which I hoped someone might be able to help me with:

Bamboo or metel knitting needles... which are best? Pros / con's

Is it a good idea to buy a set of all the different sizes or just buy the ones you need when you need them?

Can anyone recommend a good / not too expensive supplier of wools and knitting needles? (I will search all the other threads on here as well for good suppliers!).

Thanks so much everyone for your help

Fran

Hi Fran,
    I've just started learning again too (just done a post about my first project) and my teacher (aka my sister in law) said the best place to get your needles is charity shops.
    Having said that if you are only a few weeks off giving birth you won't be wanting to tramp about searching for them so I think I'd head straight for a shop that I knew sold them or be ultra lazy and buy online. I can't comment on what type I'm afraid as I'm only a novice and have only used metal ones so far. I would love to get hold of some wooden or Bamboo ones though as I like to use natural materials for all my crafts if I can. I'd be interested to see what the experienced knitters say.

Good luck with the Birth
    Natalie
    website blog

Comment

I prefer plastic or coated needles cos I can't bear that scratch sound. As for wool, Dunhelms have a very reasonable baby wool range. If you have a Wilkinsons, they sometimes have baby wool too, but charity shops are the best bet for both needles and wool - perhaps a friend will trawl them for you.
      Carol
      God helps them that help themselves.

Comment