X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Setting up a website

Hi Everbody

I am new to the forum and needing a bit of advice from fellow crafters

I have been making jewellery for a couple of years now, and have a lot interest in my work. I'm still at uni but I would like to set up my own company once I graduate, however I was wanting to make a head start on it now. My boyfriend is a dab hand with web design so he was going to build me a website to sell some of my pieces. Does anyone know if I need to be a registered company before trading online?

Any info on this would be much appreciated!

Thanks!

If you sell any of your jewellery including to family and friends you need to be registered as self employed with the Inland Revenue.
    Don't worry, it's not as frightening as it sounds. A simple phone call is all that's needed to register yourself. You need to keep financial records of all your business related income and out goings (receipts etc.) you have over £5000+ before you'd need to pay tax, but you will have to fill out a tax return.
    full time mum and very very part time crafter.

Comment

Hi Joanne7,

Not very up on the current legislation however I do know that if you are selling anything whether it be online or wherever you need to register for tax within 3 months of setting up or you will get hit with penalties. You could check it out with the IR - they are quite helpful surprisingly.

Cheers.

Lisa

Bowed Over
      Handmade Dog Collar Accessories
      www.bowedover.co.uk

Comment

You will need to register your business. check out this website ... http://www.businesslink.gov.uk/bdotg...sslink.gov.uk/

There will also be some threads in the 'craft business' section that might be useful to you

not sure what you will need to do being a student? but if you phone up the business link they are very helpful and will go through all details.
        hth?
        incywincystitches.com - Fabric buttons, button supplies and handmade accessories