Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just to say hello

Hi

I am new on this forum, and just starting jewellery making. Or, possibly, contemplating, would be a better word.

I looked at many aspects, and really like to get into silversmithing. The trouble is, where I am, there are no courses as such (well there is one, and that starts in Feb sometime) and I am not quite sure whether to wait till February till I start a course, and try basics now. I looked at some things like soldering, cutting, sawing on internet, and it doesn't look incredibly difficult, but I realise that most of the people who do tutorials on youtube are very experienced, so they make it look easy.
    My question is, I guess, is silversmithing something that can be self taught, or you have to have some sort of training.
    And second question is, there is an incredible amount of books on Amazon to introduce one to making silver jewellery, but maybe someone from this forum can recommend something. I have no previous experience with jewellery whatsoever.

Thank you very much, I hope these questions are not too stupid, and I will appreciate if you could help me on that.

Tanya

Welcome to the forum, although although I am a jewellery maker I haven't explored silversmithing yet but I am sure someone will be along shortly to help you.
    http://debbieclairegems.webplus.net
    http://www.facebook.com/DebbieClaireGems

Comment

It's perfectly possible to teach yourself. A good starting point would be this book:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Jewellery-Tw.../dp/1840921978

Unfortunately, some adult ed courses are utterly useless for jewellery makers - they're often taught by traditional silversmiths and are good if you're interested in making teaposts or napkin rings, but not much else, which can make them a waste of time and money.

Others, of course, are brilliant, and inspire people a great deal.