Where do I begin?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where do I begin?

Hi there ladies, I am a total newbie to jewellery making but I bought a beading mag today and I am totally hooked. I NEED to create something beautiful. Please can someone tell me what I need to begin - tools, types of beads, findings etc. I'd really appreciate your help. Thank you in advance.
    Dee

I guess it depends what you want to make and with what materials.

Maybe get some bigger beads, and string a few necklaces and bracelets, you can apply the same simple stringing process to head and eye pins to make dangly earrings.

Check out some of the websites in the adverts in the mag and see if they do kits, these come with all materials needed and full instructions, all you will need then is time, patience, pliers and scissors.

A simple pair of pliers with a wire cutter on will do for now, but if you are going into wire work etc, then you will need to spend money on better ones, and different ones for different jobs.

I'm sure someone will be along soon with better help for you
    www.jos-beaded-designs.com

Comment

Thanks Delta, sorry I should've clarified the type of jewellery I'm interested in making. I really like the beaded charm bracelets that are around at the moment. I also like chandalier type earrings and anything which might be gothic inspired such as jet necklaces that kind of thing. Does that help?
      Dee

Comment

Ok, well I made one of those beaded charms bracelets the other week, so you will need the bracelet, lots and lots of beads, a few charms (if you are wanting to use them too) lots of headpins (same colour as the bracelet) a pair of pliers and some patience.

All I did was put beads on the pins and then make a loop at the top. I also put jump rings on the charms, then when I had enough I just used the rings on the charms, and the loops on the pins to attach the made up bits to the links on the bracelet.