wanting to make a necklace

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• wanting to make a necklace

Ok as some of u no I am quite new to making jewellery...however, I am wanting to make my first necklace!! Where on earth do U start!!??
    I have thread already, a few different clasps, jump rings, millions and millions of different beads, I just have no idea where to start and how to secure clasps to the thread so that they r secure with no need to worry about them coming undone??
    This may sound silly to some of you, but it is something I really want to get into properly..
    Please no..."go reada book" or "google it" comments....I got those on another forum I was on and its the reason I left...I want info from ppl who actually make them, straight from the horses mouth so to speak ..what works for u?? xx

Welcome to the forum, hopefully someone here will be able to help.

I suppose it all depends on what type of thread and beads you have. I started jewelry making with fishing line and old clasps off broken bits of jewelry. All you need to do is tie your fishing wire to the clasp using a very secure knot (I don't know the special names for the knots, but after tying the knot, pull on it to make sure it doesn't come undone).

String your beads on, tie it to the other clasp and hey presto, a string of beads.... Things I learnt the hard way: glass beads may cut into your fishing line, causing your beads to scatter across the dance-floor (assuming you are dancing at that inopportune moment).

try the library for bead books, the craft section in my library consists of about 7 books, however, the craft section in the library in my old town was hooge, I couldn't possibly get through all the books.

Lastly, go to your local bead shop (don't have one of those either now, but you may) and ask for advice, they are generally quite helpful people if you show a bit of interest

How did everyone else work out how to bead?
    www.beadlab.com

Comment

Hi Nat