Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Crimping problems! Help please.

Hi everyone

I've been making jewellery for about two years but not really mastered the crimping although my first few pieces were fine...and still are two years on.

Someone has set me thinking that perhaps the quality of crimp tubes and wire bought on ebay may not be as good as one might hope. I'm going to buy some better quality ones now but does anyone else have any other idea? They just don't hold and I don't see the point of just squashing a crimp tube flat as it looks unsightly (imho)

Also, would you say crimp tubes or crimp beads are better? I only tried a few crimp beads and they all shattered on crimping - again ebay so perhaps why.

Any thoughts?

Thank you, LISA

Are you using sterling or plated? I've heard people say that plated can shatter easily when squashed. I've never used plated crimps so I don't know if this is true.

I use Tornado crimps. They're bigger than 'normal' crimps and are textured, so when you squash them you get a nice patterned finish. They are incredibly strong and I've never had anything fail when using them. You can get slightly smaller ones from the Silver Corporation that work in exactly the same way.
    Heather
    Pretty Things Handmade Jewellery

Website - www.prettythingsjewellery.co.uk

Destash bead and papercrafting shop - http://www.misi.co.uk/handmade/BlackCatBeads.html

New blog - www.prettythingsandwitterings.blogspot.com

Comment

Hi Lisa