Advise on stringing wire choices?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advise on stringing wire choices?

Hi all, I am looking for advise on wire choices (not the strong wires for wire wrapping etc, its the stringing)..... I am a beginner but getting braver...
    I have been using "Beadalon 49 strand 0.018" Bright" for every thing I have made simply cause I have been told and have read that its the 'best' wire. I am showing the wire in some of my chains by crimping separate beads etc and now I have started beading right up to the clasp so no wire is showing and have also made a couple of braclets with it. I have used a variety of beads, gemstones and seed beads. I think its working perfect, it drapes lovely no matter what lenght i make it to and what ever i string on to it and have no complaints. I have given to friends and family and nothing has broken yet! or they havent told me!
    But I know I am wasting my money cause there is prob different I could use which would be cheaper as just as good for what i need. I have seen Soft flex, flex rite, acculon. Some 7 strand and 19 strand but they seem very light to me having used 49 strand and now i am afraid that they are to light....
    Ok I could waffle here for hours! Sorry My question which I know is so general its nearly imposible to answer but ...
    What other wire is highly reccommended for general use on chains/ braclets for beads/stones that will last?
    What wire looks ok exposed? And where do ye buy?
    Sorry for the long post, ye should be here with me I could talk about this for hours!!
    Thanks.

I know what you mean I use flex rite 49 strand all the time now.