Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jewellery Party -v- Craft Fair

Hi

I've been selling my handmade jewellery for the last 18 months by having jewellery parties at my home every 3 months or so and these have proved successful. I enjoy having the parties at home - I just have an open afternoon rather than a specific time for people to come - and this seems to work well. I'm not sure whether to try craft fairs yet and just wondered if anybody had any advice about this. Should I stick to what I know works or dip my toe in the water with a craft fair.

Any advice would be helpful.

Thanks.

Hi
    I also sell handmade beaded jewellery, I started off just visiting friends and family & showing them my work and had a few sales, I then started selling at craft fairs towards the end of last year Im not sure if it's the fairs i've been attending or the credit crunch, or people just not liking my work but i havent found them very successful, I havent given up yet though and plan to do a more established craft fair the end of march so will wait and see how that goes!
    Im planning on starting up jewellery parties & have a couple lined up in the next few months, so will see how they go!
    I guess it depends what works best for you! I find it hard not to get down about spending hours at a craft fair only to make a few sales, but it is also advertising as people will pick up my business cards & hopefully order online at a later time. I would just be careful in choosing which craft fairs you do and try and get one that has been running for a while rather than a first one, also Im finding it increasingly difficult to find a stall at a craft fair that has the space for another jewellery stall, Its a popular craft!
    Good luck, hope this helps
    Karen

http://www.etsy.com/shop/karensBeadCreations
    https://www.facebook.com/KarensbeadCreations

Comment

My instinct is a little "if it ain't broke, don't fix it!"