Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Precision Soldering with Minimal Heat transfer

Hi

I was wondering if anyone knows how to solder a joint on a pendant very quickly, I want to solder a small piece of tubing on the back of a pendant but must keep the heat transferred to the pendant at a minimum. This is because the pendant has a fine layer of gold foil fused to it and any heat transferred to it will diminish the gold into the silver.

Looking around the only option seems to be some form of welding but this seems quite expensive, does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks for any help.
    Jewellery Shops and Info - Lustre Jewellery
    Jewellery Buying Guide - Jewellery Buying Tips
    Gold Fusion - Handcrafted Jewellery

Hi,

I'm not an expert on gold foil, but I know a couple of things which might help. Obviously laser welding, as you say, would be one of the only ways to do it without heating the whole pieve up - I think you can book a slot to use one in certain places if you know how but I'm not sure.

But if you're soldering the normal way:

You can get heat-resistant paste/gel which you can layer onto your work to help reduce transfer of heat, but this doesn't eliminate it. I guess if you're soldering onto the back then the front will automatically have to heat up too...

Make sure you use easy/extra easy solder!