Shapes/moulds for wirework

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shapes/moulds for wirework

Being an absolute beginner at all things jewellery making I will probably have loads of odd questions for you Here's one..
    I like to shape a piece of wire into a cone shape spiral. Can you buy small shaped objects to do this on or does anyone have any suggestions on how to do this.
    And I apologise if this is a dumb question with an obvious answer
    Thank you

I think its an expense to look for specific tools to do the job so I would try to use anything thats lying around the home or maybe even try to make some.

Small cone shapes are easily made from a circle of cardboard, cut from the edge to the centre then secure it into a cone shape (a bit like a party hat) with some sellotape or staples.
    Auntynet

Step-daughter's website selling hand dyed sock yarns www.knotanotherknitter.com

~ * ~ * ~ Of all the things I've ever lost, I miss my mind the most! ~ * ~ * ~

Comment

I think my suggestions would be to make a flat silver spiral by winding the silver round and round. When it's large enough push the centre through until you have a tapered coil. That makes perfect sense to me but I'm not sure it will to anyone else!?
      Best wishes
      Carole

www.caroleallenjewellery.co.uk

Comment

Originally posted by Glitterbug View Post
        I think my suggestions would be to make a flat silver spiral by winding the silver round and round. When it's large enough push the centre through until you have a tapered coil. That makes perfect sense to me but I'm not sure it will to anyone else!?
        I get what you're saying - and I'm just a girl!
        Auntynet

Step-daughter's website selling hand dyed sock yarns www.knotanotherknitter.com

~ * ~ * ~ Of all the things I've ever lost, I miss my mind the most! ~ * ~ * ~

Comment

I usually dig about in the kitchen draws, its suprising the stange shaped things you find

Comment