what size wire do i need?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• what size wire do i need?

I want to expand my jewellery skills and have a go at wire wrapping etc but I don't know what size wire I need? I have 28 gauge wire which is too thin but have no idea what this is in terms of mm! I've seen some on ebay that is 0.3mm but even though I'm a maths teacher I can't imagine how big it is.

I've worked with memory wire before but only to make wrap style bracelets and don't think this is what I'm after? I think I need wire the same thickness as head pins etc.

Any ideas??

Thanks

Katie
    Last edited by cardsbykatie; 18-12-2008, 03:25 PM. Reason: i should rehat i type before submitting!

0.3 is very thin. Id go for .8 or even a .6 to start off with. Or get some copper in all sizes and try them out.

I use 1.2 for pendant edges and either 0.6 or .4 to wrap with, depending how i want it to look. I use .8 for earrings usually. Or .6 if they arent heavy beads.

Not sure on wha they are as gauges. I think there will be a guide online.

Head pins tend to be .8 i think. Memory wire isnt suitable at all. Its very hard.
    Handmade Embroideries and Tapestries - Greentree Crafts on Facebook Etsy Shop Instagram

Comment

I'd completely agree about getting a range of sizes in copper to practice with before you start working with silver. www.wires.co.uk is a great place to get copper wire. When you want to get silver, it's far cheaper from a bullion dealer (eg cooksons or even palmer metals) than a bead supplier.

Most wire sold in the UK is in metric sizes, but as a reference, the gauge equivalents (to awg) are approximately:

30ga - 0.25mm
      26ga - 0.4mm
      24ga - 0.51mm
      22ga - 0.64mm
      21ga - 0.7mm
      20ga - 0.81mm
      18ga - 1.02mm
      16ga - 1.29mm
      14ga - 1.62mm
      12ga - 2.05mm

Most commercial headpins are made from 22ga wire.
      george
      www.mizgeorge.co.uk
      www.etsy.com/shop/mizgeorge