Wire/Thread Advice Please?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wire/Thread Advice Please?

Hi, I am new to the craft forum so I hope I am posting this in the right section.

I have been making bridal jewellery and tiaras now for nearly 3 years as my full time occupation.

I am now branching out into fashion jewellery as a side line. I am finding that I need to change my wiring techniques as the beads/gemstones I am now using are very heavy compared to pearls and Swarovski crystals.

I currently use sterling silver callotes etc and Beadalon 7 strand for my bridal jewellery which has been fine and never had any problems as they are light and delicate.

I have tried this technique for my fashion jewellery but its not working, the beads are too heavy. I have been reading the forum and its been very helpful. I have just bought wire guardians etc as some of you have suggested. Great little things and I am so pleased...so thank you for the other threads - been very helpful.

I would be ever so grateful for any advice on the best wire or thread to buy? I need it to be strong (snap proof), kink free and be suitable for wire guardians....any advice please? There are so many out there and I just dont know whats the best to buy or the most suitable for heavy bead work. PS. also a wire that does not stretch with the weight of the beads.

Can someone also reccomend some suppliers - I currently use Palmer Metals?

Many Thanks In Advance.

Clare x
    http://www.bridalise.co.uk/
    Handmade Tiaras & Jewellery For All Occasions

Personally i like soft flex. There is also beadalon wire but iv never used it. I just got it from eBay.

I needed slightly larger wire guards for it though.
    Handmade Embroideries and Tapestries - Greentree Crafts on Facebook Etsy Shop Instagram

Comment

Hi