Stretch Bracelets

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stretch Bracelets

Im a relative newbie so advice is always needed and welcomed!!
    I am making some beaded bracelets (for my own pleasure) and would like to attempt some stretch ones using quite heavy semi precious gemstones. I have never tried this before and would like advice as to the materials needed and what type of knot or closure would be best. I really dont want it snapping and all my lovery beeds going everyhwere!!

Also is there a rule to the length of elastic required, should it be tied when stretched etc etc Any help really!!!!

Thanks

I am not sure if elastic is the best thing to string heavy beads on.

The problem is that it stretches and falls off if it is too heavy.

Would you consider memory wire?
    www.beadlab.com

Comment

I certainly would Pebbles, although i have never used that either- in fact i have just viewed a video clip on another thread about how to form the loops at the ends! Thanks for that, that is probably the best solution.

Any suggestions on what to get and where to get it then??

Comment

Stretch

If you use double thickness of the type of elastic that frays your bracelet may last awhile but your beads will need quite big holes. Alternatively use one mm thick elastic but sometimes in hot weather the knot wont meld so watch out for that. Any type of knot will work you just need to make sure it is tight without breaking the elastic, there is a bit of a knack to this.
        Chris W.
        x
        Gemstone Jewellery and Gifts

Comment

If the holes are big enough it's a good idea to put a little glue or clear nail varnish on the knot and slid it into a bead to hid it. Hils
          Handmade jewellery, to buy gifts or just to treat yourself visit my website, commissions welcome or join me on facebook for a chat

Comment