Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice please??

Hi,

I am currently studying on a BA (HONS) in Contemporary Crafts and am about to enter into my second year. I have chosen to spe******e in metalwork and ceramics with a view to becoming a jewellery designer/manufacturer. The problem is, I don't feel that this course is providing me with the skills that I would need/like to have for me to be able to achieve this. The course is biased to the more popular areas, and the metalwork area is trying to point me towards sculpture which I do not want to do.

I am now considering leaving the university and either enrolling onto a Btec in jewellery at The City College Manchester, or entering into an apprenticeship scheme.

Any advice that could help me to ascertain which would be more beneficial to me would be a massive help!

Thanks a lot,

Sophie

P.S. Sorry about the long post!!

Hi Sophie, my philosophy would be to follow your heart, if it doesn't feel right, then it probably isn't right for you. With any artistic work, I believe it must come from the heart, so, being pushed in a direction that isn't right for you, may be more of an academic exercise than an artistic adventure. I would research all the other courses (even evening classes, or, weekend courses) and see if any of them are actually going in the direction that you want to go in, then make your decision. It may be viable for you to attend more than one course. I wish you lots of luck
    Jayne

"One must have chaos in oneself in order to give birth to a dancing star."

Comment

Hi Sophie,

Again Great advice from Poppy.

I would also consider the pro's and con's of what you are doing now.
      What is the end goal? Does your Tutor say?
      If you changed direction, will the last year have been for nothing, or did you get something from it?? Also can you transfer what you have done so far to another course, I think some course allow this.