Thread for stringing pearls

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thread for stringing pearls

I wondered if anyone knows how to find the right type of thread to string pearls?

The thread I've got seems to be too thin, so when I knot it between pearls, the knots go straight through the holes of the pearl, which kind of defeats the purpose!

Should I just experiment and buy some different thickness of threads, or is there an easier way to tell first?

thanks!
    Sarah x

Hi Silver Butterfly

Sorry to jump on your thread but I'd really like to know this aswell so hopefully we can bump it back to the top.

I love making pearl necklaces but I use beadalon wire and crimp each end so if it does ever break hopefully the pearls won't spill everywhere.

I have seen pearl necklaces which uses the knotting design and they look really nice.

Hopefully someone on here will know
    www.sparklehandmadejewellery.co.uk

Comment

I'm no expert but just done a quick google and everyone seems to use pure silk thread which comes in several sizes. Obviously the smaller the pearl, the smaller the thread.

I just treat myself to a pearl knotting tool with the intention of learning how to use it although my OH says you can also knot without one, just using a needle. He should understand my love of tools what with him being a man and all! Its different when he wants a new toy that just gets thrown in the garage with all his other stuff.
      Last edited by auntynet; 09-06-2008, 05:18 PM.
      Auntynet

Step-daughter's website selling hand dyed sock yarns www.knotanotherknitter.com

~ * ~ * ~ Of all the things I've ever lost, I miss my mind the most! ~ * ~ * ~

Comment

Beadalon