Cord Ends & glue ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cord Ends & glue ?

Hi - am I being a bit dim ? As a beginner I have been using cord ends that you bend over the cord / leather etc. This seems to hold well enough - but I have just read somewhere that I should also be using glue .... is this recommended ? I am hoping to sell my jewellery eventually (when I can convince myself it is good enough !) so would not want it to fall apart because I have not done it right !
    Also, can anyone recommend a good cheap supplier of swarovskis as I have looked on ebay & don't really know how much to bid, so am feeling lost.

MAny thanks,
    Isis
    Best Wishes,
    Lisa

Designs by Isis

I don't use glue in the cord ends, although I am sure you could if you were concerned that the leather is not going to hold.

I bought swarovskis recently from

http://www.mailorder-beads.co.uk/

They provided great service and posted them out very quickly, they have almost all the colours and I think they are among the cheapest place to buy them.
    www.beadlab.com

Comment

Hi Isis, not sure how you are getting on with this now but I think use of glue is just up to you and according to how thick or well the cord seems to be holding in the cord tip - sometimes I do use glue, sometimes I dont (one of my You Tube vids on the link below demos the use of cord tips if that helps )
      Mel

Comment

Cord Ends

Hi Isis,
        I sometimes use cord ends for leather and don't use glue but if I was using the small ones where you knot the end I would use glue. I buy my Swarovski crystals of ebay mostly, often from someone in Hong Kong but I don't buy in large quantities. You are right to make jewellery that is sturdy but don't let worrying about that stop you trying to sell what you make. Why not road test your designs yourself then you will feel confident they will last? Also believe that if you like them, someone else is sure to like them too.
        Chris W.
        x