Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mad idea about painting a light?

Hi!

Im a newbie! I used to be very arty when I was younger and I suppose I have quite a creative job (graphic designer) but have decided to try and start a hobby.

This may sound a bit weird but to cut a very long story short while on hols in Turkey in the summer, I saw a light that was kind of mosaic type so I am going to try and make one myself...... my first thought was to use glass mosaic (stick it on the glass of a nice lantern light and grout it) then I thought about maybe painting the glass with a thick black paint (something raised?) and then filling in with different colours.

I don't know where to start and what type of paints, glue, etc to use and if this is to be an electrical thingy then special paint is to be used but would not have a clue where to start looking for materials apart from Hobbycraft but that place is very expensive and would rather buy elsewhere from a nice small business.

Dont know which route to go down. mosaic or painting?

Can anybody suggest or help?

what about stained glass?

i think you piece glass together with lead or something but i know this method is used for lights, it might be something you want to google
    www.craftedgems.co.uk

http://www.beadartists.org/Gal1300_C..._s_Gallery.asp

Comment

are you talking about the base of the lamp or is it the lampshade.
      Tiffany lampshades are stained glasss pieces and are made in the style of Louis Tiffany who was working in the late 1800's. His style was around during the early art noveux period and went hand in hand with the arts and carfts movent with it's organic forms.
      There are kits available but they can be pretty pricey! Tiffany lamps usually had a brass base often in an organic form like a woman or tree base.