Ads

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help Needed... Card Making... Where do I start ???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help Needed... Card Making... Where do I start ???

Hello everyone... I'm new here so please be gentle with me!

Well... I have to say, Its so much harder than I thought it would be!!

Now bear with me pleeease.. I am a complete and utter beginner.
    I'm sat here thinking 'what lead me to look at starting to think about making my own cards'? Then I remembered... it was the simple fact that I am getting married next year and was looking at ordering cards for invitations etc.. and as you probably know, you have day invites, evening invites, RSVP cards for returning.. and all in all it was going to cost me about £150 - £200 for them in total, and I don't know about you but I think that's a lot of money for cards that are often pretty basic and uninteresting.

Then I started looking at favours, and again... my mind kept crawling back to... why don't you make them?

So I started looking around.. I am not young now, but when I was in school I was top of the class at art and thought - that's got to be a bit of help? Hmmm...

HOWEVER...... Instead I am terrified!!!!

Where do you start? How do all you brilliant card and craft artists get going?

I am not getting married until 2009 so I have lots of time to practice, and lots of time to create them too - so that's my only advantage here.

I have been googling 'how to make cards' etc etc... and on reading the info, it's talking about allsorts that I don't understand in a way that seems to be saying I should undersatnd this!... Like... embossing powder (what's that ??) .. special pens, and another million and one things that have got me scratching my head. I know I probably sound like a complete idiot - but when I went to school it was paint, pencils, paper and brushes or whatever and I knew what I was doing - I am totally lost with this. It's a real art isn't it?