Ads

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

what to use on the back of mdf signs to protect and hid paint?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• what to use on the back of mdf signs to protect and hid paint?

I've recently finished my first set of MDF block printed signs. They are quite thick 25mm and took some time to prime then paint but because i'm fairly new to painting i made a bit of a mess. I originally laid plain sheets of paper under the mdf while painting and due to painting with 2 coats of primer and 1 coat of actual paint, once dry the paper has become stuck to the back of the mdf. Itis rigid so i was able to pull away most of the paper from the centre but there is paint and paper stuck fast around the edge creating an uneven border of about 1cm-2cm inwards all the way around the back. I've tried sanding it and also using something sharp to remove what i can but due it being mdf wood it's fairly delicate and I'm left with an unsightly back to the sign and cannot sell them in this state.

I purchased some plain black felt sticky sheets as had never ordered this before to see if i could lay this onto the back and make it appear a little more presentable but the roll arrived folded in the post and there are creases all over the felt so it would look just as bad sticking this to the back. Added to that i'm not even sure how long the sticky backing of the felt would last. Doesn't seem as strong as i thought.

What i should have done was use frog tape to cover the back edges of the mdf and will do this in future so won't have to face this problem again but for the moment can anyone recommend a way to hide the paint on edges at the back. The sign measures 24cm x 18cm. I am also placing circular keyhole hangers on either side of centre of the back so whatever is placed onto the back I need to be able to drill a 3cm hole through.

thanks for any help in advance.