How to make time to make...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to make time to make...

There have been a few threads recently about time management that set me thinking.

I joined here this year with full intention of restarting my crafty side. I knew it would be difficult as I am an incorrigable planner, reader and pontificator - something to do with the day job, I am an FE lecturer!

But it has turned out to be nigh on impossible to get started. I have planned, researched, dabbled, bought the necessary tools and...... well nothing really! I've got a half made patchwork bag that needs the handles removing (I am a pillock), a scarflet that was cut from the wrong part of a jumper (making the matching hat and hand warmers impossible to cut out) and a bag made out of a lined scarf - 10 mins work!

I also now have a fully visible stash pile, something I have managed to keep hidden for donkeys years! OH is not impressed, not bothered much, but is now staring at it - expectantly!

So, back to my thought/question..... how do you make time to make things?

I get back from work utterly shattered. I know if I start doing something I will feel better, but oh how I just want to flop down and sleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep!

How did you start?? Any tips you would like to pass on to someone who just can't seem to simply get on with it?
    Do not watch this space

Maybe you are working too hard in the day job!

Firstly you should be personally motivated to want to do something. At present I think you are in the dreaming stage and have found your initial projects not run too smoothly. I would suggest finding a very easy project and put all your effort into making it absolutely perfectly.

Then progressively step up the difficulty of the project. The more projects successfully completed will make you realise that you can do things in the out of work hours that you enjoy and can do well.