hints and tips for a good website design

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• hints and tips for a good website design

Hello I've been MIA lately as I'm currently doing a degree in webdesign and working as a freelance webdesigner when I do get a spare minute. So I havent had much time for crafts altho I do continue to sell now and again hoorah!
    I'm back to try and get some motivation to do more crafts and I'm thinking of starting some workshops in the northwest/ yorkshire region with a couple of other crafters.
    Anyhoo, in the interim, I thought I'd offer some hints and tips for all you lovely people to make your websites more efficient.

1. choose your colours carefully and dont go overboard. Colours can directly impact on whether your customer stays on your site or not. Choose colours that go with your brand - for example green is calming, blue suggests medical/ clean, red stands for passion and romance etc etc. Make sure you're colours don't clash and you dont have too many - three is the suggested magic number.
    2. don't put white text on a black background. E-marketing guru's think that people just dont read it. If you really want a black background find but make your text boxes lighter.
    3. Use curves where you can. curved corners on boxes, curves in your logo etc etc
    4. Use keywords, repeat them throughout your text and as titles for your images - even use common spelling mistakes, as likely people will accidently search google with them.
    5. Try and keep your site accessibility friendly. Accessibility is a legal requirement for business sites and if you've made your site by yourself, you might not be aware of this. Could someone with sight problems use your site?
    6. make use of white space (i.e blank space) If you have a bit of white space can it be filled with something productive? However, don't go to extremes and fill every bit of white space, it'll just look messy.