When did you start making stuff?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When did you start making stuff?

We've had a bit of a nostalgic journey this weekend. My parents had to empty their loft so that they could have new insulation fitted, so I was asked if I could PLEASE remove my stuff, (don't know why, it's only been there for a couple of decades...!)

Anyway, look what they found:

Meccano Jones Childs Sewing Machine by formerglory, on Flickr

I remember using it to make clothes for my dolls in the 1960's! Then they found a collection of my old artwork and lino prints. It made me think...I would never have guessed back then that I would have ended up doing what I do for a living now, I always wanted to be a vet!!

So how long have you all been making stuff and did you ever imagine that you would be doing what you do today for a living?
    www.formerglory.co.uk- www.seatweaving.blogspot.com - Facebook page - Twitter

I remember when I was young I got one of those sets where you have a million matchsticks and make something with them. My set was to make a Gypsy Caravan. I made it all and painted it, but I don't have a clue what happened to it.
    I also remember my Mum saying that I spent hours with egg boxes making a Nativity scene one Christmas, with all the animals characters etc. I don't have that either.
    I think I was a strange child though because she also said that I spent hours sitting on the beach just sorting through the pebbles.
    I don't really make anything for a living, but now and then I make a bit of money to replace my supplies when I paint doll faces.

Comment

As a child I used to paint, draw and sew. I made clothes for my dolls and teddies and spent ages figuring out how to make the patterns - in particular, the shapes I had to cut out to make trousers so my dolls could sit down! I remember making a "gonk" which was ugly and badly-stitched, but I was quite proud of him. I was about six, maybe seven.