Mature student?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mature student?

This is crafts related so hope it's ok to post this here?

I've just some back from a day at one of my local universities. As I currently work as an advisor, the day was aimed at give me information that I could use when working with students, but it's actually inspired me to think about higher education for myself!

I did try uni after me A levels but chose the wrong course and had a bit of a bad time of things. I also don't think I was ready for it. Now 8 years later I feel like I'm ready to learn more and take on a new challenge.

I've just been looking at the university's website and they offer a range of courses in '3D Design', including crafts, jewellery making and surface pattern. I'd love the opportunity to at least find out more about it but wondered if anyone here has experiences of being a mature student?

For example, I've had a look into financial support but there doesn't seem to be any! It seems I may be able to apply for a student loan but that's about it. Also, I wouldn't be able to give up work as I have a mortgage and other bills to pay, so would I still be able to access a course?

In light of the fact that the course is related to my interest in crafts, would I be able to get any financial support in light of it helping me work towards running my own business in the future?

As a mature student, do you apply through UCAS and would I be too late for this year in that case?

Owww, so many questions! They have an open day coming up by it's during the week when I'm at work! I might see if I could arrange my own visit though instead.

I don't think my BF's going to buy in to it - wish I didn't have all these commitments, life would be a lot easier!
    Katian Mosaics

♥ My Ebay Listings ♥

My Facebook Page

Hi Kate

Can't tell you if it's the right thing to do or not or what it's like being a mature student but I can give you some practical advice....