Ads

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Will I be able to make a living from doing fairs/internet?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Will I be able to make a living from doing fairs/internet?

Hello, I am new to this and my question is as above. I am a single parent, and I have an idea of selling maybe biscuits/sweets, candles or soap (or something), either by selling direct to local-ish shops, over the internet (how will people know of me?) or through craft fairs or farmers markets (but only if I can get there and back within time to collect my children from the after-school club). Does this sound completely ridiculous, or perfectly possible? Are you all full-time crafters or is it a sideline? Hoping I get some replies!

Hi Twix,

Welcome to the forum!

Are you looking to live off the money made from this or would it be extra cash every month?

I am a full-time crafter. I sell jewellery online and at craft fairs and I have just recently started organising craft fairs.

Would you be making either the biscuits/sweets or candles/soap yourself from scratch?

Fiona
    Silver Ruby - Colourful Contemporary Jewellery
    www.silverruby.com

Comment

I personally wouldn't sell sweets/biscuits etc because I think (I'm not 100% sure though) that you would have to be checked out by health and safety as you would be selling food for public consumption. I'm hoping to start working seriously on my business this year but I'm lucky in that I stay at home with my children and can potter when I want too (within reason obviously!) Have you made crafty things before? Do you enjoy it as a hobby? I would also spend quite a lot of time researching the crafts you want to do and see what the competition is like etc etc.
      Hope this helps and good luck with what you want to do
      Lynsey
      Visit my Etsy store http://swirlyarts.etsy.com
      My daily thoughts! http://swirlyarts.blogspot.com
      My blog of cute stuff http://cuteable.com