Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sale or return

Hi

I have just recently started to make tiaras and after making a few contacts I have a local bridal shop interested in my designs. The owner has said we'll try a few on a sale or return basis, which I'm quite happy with, but she's left the ball in my court as to the percentage she'll receive. This is where I'm a bit stuck as I have no experience of this. Has anybody on here supplied any of their goods on sale or return? And if so could you give me some pointers as to what percentage is acceptable/reasonable etc. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks

(I originally posted this in the jewellery section but thought may be other crafters could give some advice)
    www.fitforaprincess.co.im

Hi Daydream

Well done on having a shop interested - that's the hard bit out of the way

I've only ever done sale or return with my cards at one shop and was quite suprised at the % they wanted as I thought it was quite low. If I remember rightly they only had about 25% of the final price.

If I was you I'd work out how much the tiara's cost to make in materials and time and then think about how much you think the lady should charge for them in the shop - I'd say the figure you should ask for should be in the middle of those 2 amounts.

However, saying that I don't really have a clue what the norm is
    Visit Natty Netty for a huge selection of Iris Folding supplies

Comment

Thanks for your advice, Netty, I'm in discussions with the owner of the shop now so hopefully we'll come to an agreement that suits us both.

Comment

Congratulations on your big break!
        As far as percentages go then don't be rushed into quick descisions that you live to regret down the line!
        You need to get a contract with the shop if you are going to be doing sale or return. In the event that a shop goes bust, you neeed to be able to prove that the goods are your property and not assets of the shop.