Teaching your craft

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Teaching your craft

Just curious - Do any of you teach your craft?

If yes, do you teach privately or through colleges etc? If not, what has stopped you? (money, time, confidence, skill level, not interested).

I just wondered how many people here supplement their 'craft fair' income with teaching as well and thought others might be interested in finding out what we all do with our 'crafty time'.

To start off - I am just getting back into doing craft fairs after a loooong break and am very rusty, however I have been teaching crafts for over ten years to all ages and absolutely love it. The credit crunch is beginning to bite though!
    Ashbee

"You only retire when you stop doing something you don't like and start doing something you do..."

I teach on a volunteer basis to Elderly people in a day centre - I get pleasure but no financial reward for it.
    Carol
    God helps them that help themselves.

Comment

I have done some card making classes to raise money for church, but nothing for myself, I know the people from church, but I couldn't do it in front of strangers!
      MISI - http://www.misi.me.uk/store_info.php?user_id=741

Comment

We have a girl that helps us on the stall and between us, OH and I have been teaching her how to make jewellery but its just on a personal level. I've also shown a class of teenagers at my niece's school how to make earrings when they had to come up with an idea to spend £10 outlay and make some profit.

I've never really thought about making any money out of it.
        Auntynet

Step-daughter's website selling hand dyed sock yarns www.knotanotherknitter.com

~ * ~ * ~ Of all the things I've ever lost, I miss my mind the most! ~ * ~ * ~

Comment

I don't teach my craft and don't think I would ever have the self confidence to do so. That said, I would love more people to be interested in Machine Knitting.

Rachael

http://blueshedcrafts.etsy.com