Commission charges... HELP!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Commission charges... HELP!!

I was just wondering if there is a general commission rate when it comes to handmade crafts?
    I have just made up a batch of necklaces to sell in a local tattoo shop and he will be charging me per necklace.
    I need to calculate my costs and any commission he will charge me before pricing them up.
    I dont want to do it when i get to the shop incase he over charges me and as im not experienced in this kind of thing i dont want him to take me for a ride!
    Also if the necklaces are goign to be too expensive once ive added on commision it wont be worth it anyway!
    Any help would be great!!
    cheers
    Rudi

Hi Rudi
    This is a bit of a how long is a piece of string question as the commission rates vary enormously. The highest I currently have is 40% so I add it on to what I want back when an item sells. The key is not to undercut yourself in the excitment of getting someone offering you an outlet. Why not ask him what commission he takes so that you can wotk out what they need to retail at?
    Chris xx
    My Website
    My Blog

Comment

AAAh i see ok!
      Yeh i could ask him i suppose, would make sense! Its just he hasnt seen the pieces yet and im not within meeting distance of him so if i ask him will he have a rough idea of how much he wants to take or does it all depend on the piece?
      Im not very good with this side of the crafting business!! And i cant seem to find much info on the net!Hence why i joined!
      thankyou
      Rudi

Comment

Well really its down to you to set the price as its you who knows what it cost to make and what profit you expect. If when you add their commission on they say they are too expensive perhaps look at offering a cheaper version for them. Like I said before don't undersell yourself
        Chris xx
        My Website
        My Blog

Comment

ok thankyou!!