Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cummerbunds......

....Damn things.

The next time your best beloved says 'Darling, I'd like a cummerbund for this do we're going to' grab him by the throat and slap him about a bit, until he decides that the nearest gents' outfitters is really where he'd like to be.

DO NOT let him choose a faux moire taffeta in a fetching shade of petrel blue and cadge a pattern from his mother. Especially do not spend your Thursday evening swearing, cussing and turning your workroom atmosphere a matching shade of blue because the moire shrinks as soon as it sees your iron, whilst trying to follow step 3 of the cadged pattern, where it stipulates that you must press the pleats into the cummerbund with the aforementioned hot implement.....

Just say NO and suggest divorce.....There is absolutely nothing in this (stupid) pattern that a total beginner couldn't (in theory) handle. However, four hours, lots of swearing, and violence later, I have finally made something resembling the pattern picture. I hate this blessed fabric with a vengeance. It is not the lovely 'James Bondish look' type moment one was hoping for....... It wasn't at all "Sean Bean in the M&S ads"

I'm going to bed now, with chocolate icecream and a bar of Lindt. Humph.....

Jules
    Last edited by Apple Tree Crafts; 01-06-2007, 12:28 AM.
    Apple Tree Crafts
    www.appletreecraftfairs.com

Originally posted by Apple Tree Crafts View Post
    ....Damn things.

The next time your best beloved says 'Darling, I'd like a cummerbund for this do we're going to' grab him by the throat and slap him about a bit, until he decides that the nearest gents' outfitters is really where he'd like to be.