2 envelopes for 1 card?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2 envelopes for 1 card?

Hi everyone, 1st time poster and to be honest, I registered specifically to ask a question...
    This may seem like a silly question but i'm a noob so it's allowed!! I'm soon going to venture into selling my greetings cards online. I'm getting them done by a printing company and they will send them to me as 1 envelope per card, which is fine.
    What's bamboozelled me is the fact that any customer I have will not be buying a card for themselves but obviously to give to somebody else, which I assume means that I need 2 envelopes per card - 1 the customer needs for their recipient and 1 I need to send to the customer...if all that makes sense?!
    I will also assume that unless i'm missing something ridiculously obvious, lots of you will have encountered the same issue and i'm hoping someone will help me out.
    Do I use 2 envolopes? Does 1 of the envolopes need to be bigger than the envolope i'm putting inside the other 1? Or do you use something else entirely to post the card and envelope like a mailing bag or something?
    Thanks in advance for your replies

You generally sell with 1 envelope per card in a cello bag to protect. If you then send to a customer for a postal order I would send in a board backed envelope larger than the cello bag to ensure gets to the customer undamaged. You have to ensure that you factor the cost for the board backed envelope into your P & P.

Comment

Thank you for the swift reply. Is this the standard way? I was hoping to keep my costs down but using this route will lose me one of my USP's.
      Edit: I should add - a USP compared to the large internet companies!!

Edit Edit! hehe. If I choose to go this route, would an A5 card and envelope fit inside an A5 board back envelope or would I need to use the next size up? Which I think is a overkill A4? But I may be wrong... and hope I am.

Cheers