cards

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• cards

My daughter goes to day care as she autism and she has started making cards there. I bought her some basics for her to do at home. The question is how do you keep the cards flat once you have stuck on the design? Her's come out slightly open, is she using to much glue, what's the best way to do cards. I'm new to this to so any help would be appreciated.
    These are her first atempts, all her own design.

They're lovely.

I don't do cards but I am sure someone will come along soon with a good idea for her.
    Do not watch this space

Comment

Her cards looks great...

To answer your question: If the cards are springing open rather than laying flat it is probably because of the initial fold. If she is using pre-made card blanks they usually come flat with a score line down the middle to fold. With these she should lay the card down with the raised part of the scoreline facing up, fold one side over the other, lining the edges of the card up and then press down on the fold. To make sure the fold then lays flat she would use a bone folder and run it along the edge to really make the fold crisp. This will make sure the card stays closed. It is best to do that before she adds any papers or embellishments.

If she is making her own card blanks by cutting and folding card to size, the folds will be crisper and stay closed if she scores them before folding and then uses the bone folder to make the fold crisp.

Many paper trimmers have a score blade option or she can get a score board to help with folds...or she can use a non slip metal ruler and an embossing tool or the bone folder.