Ads

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hi, newbie here. Really need some advice.....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi, newbie here. Really need some advice.....

Hi there,

I'm Helen and I'm new here - well, that's not strictly true, I used to come on here a little bit AGES ago, but not been online for ages, so I feel like a newbie again.
    Anyway, I've recently been considering turning my handmade card hobby into something a bit more, so I've been a making a few more cards than usual and taking them wherever I go to whip them out and show people if the opportunity arises. And, I must admit that I've been very suprised by the resction I've been getting, just in the last week and have already been taking orders for my cards.
    Now, this has taken be a bit by suprise and, to be honest, im not totalloy organised and don't really have a good 'stock' of cards, if that makes sense?
    So, the advice I'm after from you lovely lot, is how many cards/designs do you think I should be working on having? Should I make duplicate copies of every card I make so I always have on sample? BAsically, I'm just after some general advice for geting this going and not looking totally unprofessional when people ask me for things.

Any responses would be really gratefully recieved,

Love Helen X

Hi Helen,

I love handmade cards and would love to see samples of yours if you could post some pictures!
    With regards to keeping a stock, your situation sounds quite similar to mine. I am a Ceramic Artist and I make objects such as vases, bowls, sculptures, coasters, clocks, wall plaques... Every piece of work that I make is an individual one off and no 2 pieces are ever the same, so it is hard for me to keep a stock of items which are all the same. I tend to photograph my work and use the photos as examples, because most of my originals have either been sold or on display in a gallery or exhibition.