Using aroma chemicals in candles

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using aroma chemicals in candles

Hey! I'm a newbie candle maker, working on a few themed scents and I've come across the problem of how you get a metallic scent into your candles.
    So many places suggest rose and geranium but the florality puts me off, so I've settled on the chemical rose oxide.
    Although I couldn't find any oil form of this chemical, I have found it to be available in liquid form from an online supplier
    My questions are:
    -Has anyone here used pure aroma chemicals in their candles before/ how do you incorporate them?
    -Are there any better scents which might bring that metallic tang I want from my candles?

Many thanks

how do these aroma work in candles,
    when the burn the works ,
    oh i think like a lamp we use at homw which use liquid perfoume the burn and make aroma in room
    its amazing

Comment

how it will work in the candle.

Comment

Hi - I'm relatively new to candle making but love meddling with fragrances (I'm in the throes of endless testing of fragrance, wax and wick for last few months). I see so much disinformation on this subject - not to mention ill-placed consensus on 'synthetics', I felt I had to add a few things before answering OP. It's my first post so hello candle makers!

First, to clear up what aroma chemicals actually are for those not sure...all of your commercial candle 'fragrance oils' are made from aroma chemicals or molecules. ALL.

These are exact same molecules used in commercial perfumes (top end luxury fragrances right down to washing powder). The difference is, candle fragrance oils will use candle-friendly solvents to allow the fragrance to work in the wax. This is why some fragrance oils don't perform well in candles compared to soap or perfume and you get awful mushrooming and poor hot throw. Something to do with candles being non polar.