Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• newbie help please

hello everyone

Im new to the candle making, when i meen new im talking around 1 week at trying it lol.

Anyway looking for some advice please, i been playing around with melting wax and pouring into a few moulds, candle finish was terible and also surface were wax was poured into was pretty poor to say the least, when i top up, and when candle is removed after setting, it is clearly seen were the top up was. i tried heating the mould and candle finish was much much better but still cant seem to get the top up correct.

Wot i would like to know are a few point in the right direction

temp to pour wax at?
    Should mould be hot or cold?
    How to and when to top up moulds with wax?

Iv read about water cooling mould to improve candle finish does this work?

Im really enjoying it and would like to get better at it.

Hi
    Sorry I can't help with your questions as I haven't made any moulded candles but I'm sure someone will be along to advise you.
    Just wanted to say to the forum.
    If you haven't realised it already you will find that candle making is absolutely addictive!
    Isabel

Comment

Hi Stevie,

I'm a newbie as well and haven't jumped into the world of moulds yet, still at the tealight stage!

Loads to learn on the forum and everyone is really friendly and helpful
      Please come see me on:

Facebook
      Twitter

Or on my blog Candles From Home

Comment

Hi Stevie,