Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Temperatures!!

Hi all,
    I'm new to candle making and loving it. I'm making and testing and making and testing. I'm using soya bean wax and have read a variety of advice about the temperature to add FO. Some say add it at a high temperature then let the wax cool and pour others advise to add FO at a low temperature and pour straight after. Any advice extremely welcome. I've measured in ml and think I've now found it best to weigh the FO and I'm currently using 10% started at 8%. Just so many variables!
    Look forward to hearing from you.

Hi there.

I'm also quite new to candle making, having just started around October last year.

I would say most definitely add the fragrance oil at a high temperature (I do it at 84 degrees C) then I allow it to cool, stirring thoroughly about 3 times, before pouring at around 43 degrees C. When I added FO at lower temperatures I didn't get a hot throw.

I also use Soya, container blend 135 and 9% FO. Hope this helps.

Marion

ps everyone's different and the experts here will tell you to test, test, test! It's good advice.

Comment

Thank you for your speedy response Marion. I received a candle kit put together by my husband for Christmas and since then I've been making and testing so it's nice to have someone with more experience than myself confirm what I thought I'd found. Do you always use these temperatures no matter what FO you're adding? and if you're using dye at what point do you add it?
      Cali

Comment

Hulloooooooo,

welcome and good luck with this dark art :-) my advice is simple. Ever watch Fringe? Think of me as a Watcher!!!!! Run a mile :-). Nar seriously the best advice is to just go and do, make plenty of mistakes as that's the only real way that you are going to pick up this satanic art.

Practice, practice, practice and the once you've think you've got it right........go practice some more.