Ads

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hot-Throw Dependent on Surface Area of Candle?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hot-Throw Dependent on Surface Area of Candle?

Hi all, I've been browsing some research after finding the scent from my Votives to be barely noticeable and stumbled across a video on YouTube explaining that Hot-Throw is down to the surface area of the candle not the amount of fragrance in the candle. I hadn't heard this before (I am a complete beginner) and wondered if this was the same in your experience. I had thought I was failing when my little jar candles and votives had hardly any scent at all but I have been burning them in a large kitchen.

I haven't yet made/burned a large container candle so I cannot say whether it's me or the candles yet!

Hi there,

I'm new to making candles as well and I haven't heard that. Just out of interest, what wax & FO % are you using? I've been using 9-10% of FO in soy and my medium & large containers have a really good scent throw with the smaller ones less so - so there might be some truth in that statement regarding the surface area.

Comment

I'm using Paraffin + 10% beeswax for Votives. 9% FO.
      Browsing this forum I haven't seen any mention of the surface area making any difference which was why I wondered...

Comment

Hi,

Just to make things more complicated, it's actually a bit of both! But you knew that was coming eh?

A 10cm melt pool will give a better scent throw than a 3cm melt pool if they have the same FO load. But a 3cm melt pool with 10% FO will more than likely give a better scent throw than a 10cm one with 3% FO.

I often find that a single votive will fragrance a small to medium room quite nicely with a full melt pool and the right FO load.
        By the sound of things, your formula is spot on. Are you getting a full melt pool?

Also, when you say "little jar candles", how little are the jars?

Comment