Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Calling your candles "organic"

Hi Everyone

I have been making candles for many years and in the recent past have seen different types of waxes come into the market. In particular, soy and palm wax which are a welcome addition as they apparently do not emit c02 when burned unlike the traditional paraffin. They also both come from renewable sources, and in the case of soy, some of them are organic.

I have seen soy candles being marketed as "organic" but I would query this because as far as I know there is no "organic" fragrance oil in the market as yet. Or am I missing something and if so could anybody tell me where to buy these organic fragrances? What are your thoughts?

Best,
    Eliza
    Manzanas Candle Crafts
    www.manzanas.co.uk -- Online retailer of candlemaking supplies, serving the UK and the EU
    Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter

I don't know abou the FO's but the jury is out over the ecological benefits of Soy. Paraffin wax is a by product of petroleum that would otherwise be thrown away, soy to be made into wax needs numberous forms of refinment to make it into a wax and this apparently is far more damaging to the environment than refining paraffin wax would ever be - so have to agree not very organic. The most organic form of wax in my book would be beeswax (without the FO).

HTH.

Lisa
    Bowed Over
    Handmade Dog Collar Accessories
    www.bowedover.co.uk

Comment

Thanks, Lisa. You are right about your points. I suppose the benefits of soy and palm wax is that it does not emit c02 when burned.. but it is hardly organic and who knows about the carbon footprint in its processing! Beeswax is indeed organic, let's hope their population increases, though!

Eliza
      Manzanas Candle Crafts
      www.manzanas.co.uk -- Online retailer of candlemaking supplies, serving the UK and the EU
      Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter

Comment